Making My Way Downtown

Mural located inside of the John E. Carson Hotel property in downtown Las Vegas. Photo by Lorena Palacios

Mural located inside of the John E. Carson Hotel property in downtown Las Vegas. Photo by Lorena Palacios

“Art is an evolutionary act. The shape of art and its role in society is constantly changing. At no point is art static. There are no rules.”
Raymond Salvatore Harmon, BOMB: A Manifesto of Art Terrorism

For the past month and a half, I’ve been walking the same two blocks to and from my car during my internship, but it has never been a dull stroll. Every morning is a new adventure to find new things to admire thanks to the amazing murals located in downtown Las Vegas.

We owe this thanks to the artists at Justkids and Life is Beautiful festival, which is happening this year on September 25-27. This music and art festival has helped make downtown Las Vegas into the holy grail of street art.

For Las Vegas natives or anyone that has been downtown before these murals were painted, we know how to appreciate the transformation they bring to our city.

To me, it is so much more than bright colors making a figure on the side of a store or hotel. Every piece tells a story, and you can interpret that story however you like. It is a distraction from the million things going on in your head on your way to work, and it makes for a great Instagram post as well.

Street art located on 7th Street in downtown Las Vegas. Photo by Lorena Palacios.

Street art located on 7th Street in downtown Las Vegas. Photo by Lorena Palacios.

The best part of it all is that it is all over the place! I just walk within a two block radius, and even then I have been exposed to so much amazing street art. The more I explore, the more I find. The promise of new art makes the walk worth it, even in 110-degree weather.

5 thoughts on “Making My Way Downtown

  1. Hi Lorena,
    Amazing photos! I never thought that Las Vegas would ever have such an amazing music festival like Life is Beautiful, but we finally have one. I was wondering what kind of camera you used to take your shots? You took some amazing angles and made great use of the fish-eye lens.

    Best,
    Norma Jean

    • Thank you so much for your comments Norma! I really appreciate them.

      I just used my iphone 6 for these photos and I used the panorama feature for some of them too. I didn’t use any other app to take pictures or edit them. Everything I used was from the features already included on the phone. Even I was surprised that I didn’t have to use a separate app to do any editing.

  2. I work as a tour guide and see these murals almost everyday and was glad to see someone went and was able to talk about the art work downtown. And I think it was good it was from someone who seemed passionate about the street art in Las Vegas. Also seeing that area everyday does make you appreciate the downtown art scene.

  3. I really enjoyed your photos. I can tell you passionate about them but how you write about them as well. I can relate to this because my internship is also downtown this summer and I have to walk a ton in the heat! The only thing is I felt it was a little short, but besides that I loved it!

  4. Hi Lorena,
    I love how you wrapped your photos into your article, they came out great! I love going downtown, it’s probably one of my favorite places in Vegas and like how you said, it’s never dull. All the murals and art that’s spread out gives downtown such a fun hip vibe. It’s nice to see this type of art making a comeback into our community, bring back some life that started to go missing.

Leave a Reply

